Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 48
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40

    REALLY need help

    Hey peeps, im an ultranoob to this forum stuff but..

    I bought a Prelude off a (insert racist insult) that didnt tell me everything about the Lude when i bought her, basic point thats relevant is, he thrashed the shoot out of it and the H23a1 has siezed
    I called Hondworld and asked for that exact engine and, he sent me an F22z6, ive read they are the same thing externally but will performance differ?
    I have a 94 Si SRS 4WS 2.3L Non-Vtec
    I have to swap over the intake and exhaust and loom when i change the engine, any key advice? Pointers i should remember?

  2. #2
    PA Janitor Bob's Avatar
    Generation
    3rd Gen
    Model
    Si 4WS - B Spec
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    11,094
    The F22Z6 is going to be OBD2 and need a different ECU.

    Pretty sure the 94 Si is going to be OBD1. therefore different ECU loom.
    It can be done, but you might be up for some work.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40
    Your being dead serious right now?
    Dont want to sound rude but do you have any evidence ro support this?
    I just want to be 100% certain before i flip my shoot at Hondworld, who said its exactly the same, drop it in and go they say

  4. #4
    Regular Member tassie_bb1's Avatar
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Model
    VTEC
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    205
    If Bob says it's so then you can take that to the bank.

    A F22Z6 is from a 5th Gen Si, so it will be OBD2. It is possible to do an OBD2 --> OBD1 conversion but it is a bit of a headache, certainly not drop it in and away you go. You're better off returning it and getting a H23A1 if you want the swap to be easy.
    Symmons Plains - 1:12.280

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40
    Well its stupid that i asked for the H23A1 and got the f22z6
    Apparently the h23a1 has a common head cracking problem?

    If i swapped all my original sensors over and put my loom and intake on the f22z6 would that be good to go?
    Hondworld are gonna get one hell of a phone call tomorrow if this isnt an easy swap, i love this Lude more than any car ive owned, sensational cars!

  6. #6
    PA Janitor Bob's Avatar
    Generation
    3rd Gen
    Model
    Si 4WS - B Spec
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    11,094
    For the coin involved you'd be better off picking up a H22, preferably OBD1 with ECU.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40
    Im not worried about money, i mainly want my Prelude back, would prefer the 2.3l that i bought it for
    I bought this car for the 4WS, 2.3l, electronic dash and paint color, id like to keep that
    I paid $800 for the f22z6 shipped from Clayton to Horsham

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40
    Quote Chris from Hondworld: "The F22Z6 is the H23A1, Honda changed the head to 2.2 for cheaper rego in japan and the H23A1 has common head cracking problems so its just a smaller displacement by 4cc and different engine number but its the same engine as the H23A1, we fit these everyday mate, if tou love your car and want it to last for many many years to come, you'll fit this engine"
    I did research and what doesnt make sense is that japan never got this Australia only engine.. hahah but I'll take his word for it cause it is a damn clean engine, from a 2001 Prelude =)

  9. #9
    PA Janitor Bob's Avatar
    Generation
    3rd Gen
    Model
    Si 4WS - B Spec
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    11,094
    What a load of crap.

  10. #10
    PA Expert ego's Avatar
    Generation
    Non Honda
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    5,548
    Bob summed that up perfectly hahaha

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40
    Gonna install it anyway, cant be bothered chasing a H23A1 =(

  12. #12
    J "The Stig" B 94vtirozguy's Avatar
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Model
    VTEC
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    2,982
    what bob says is right. You will not only need the engine, but wiring harnesses ( or run cables wire yourself ), and ECU. On top of the the OBD2 computer will throw more CEL's as it want feedback from more sensors that wont actually be there. eg two on the exhaust system for obd 2, one for obd1. So you might be better with aftermarket ecu and tuning which will cost more.

    But if your happy to go against advice.
    ------------------------------------
    Winton : 1:48.2
    Sandown : 1:38.3

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40
    Ah yea i get it
    Spose thats why its in and running fine, only CEL i have is the ect, code 6

    Good thing i heeded advice, from my Honda specialist =)
    Good job bob

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Generation
    4th Gen
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    40
    What everyone forgot to remember is the block, head and accessories dont have an obd spec, they are just metal..
    Its the wiring and sensors that make it obd as it were, so in using the original loom with the original sensors in the original spots, it runs like it originally did..
    Think smarter, not harder =)

    So yes, i do drive a 4th gen Prelude with a 5th gen F22Z6, beautifully smooth and it feels a bit more powerful than the H23A1
    Last edited by Safetydancexcx; 17th May 2015 at 02:45 AM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Si_4ws's Avatar
    Generation
    3rd Gen
    Model
    VTEC
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Australian Capital Territory
    Posts
    640
    That sounds all good, but dont forget you are now running an ECU that was mapped for a different engine with different load parameters. The fuelling and timing are referenced from pre determined load points based on throttle position, rpm and manifold pressure. It is likely you are now running rich in the lower RPM because the fuelling is based on 2.3l, there is also risk that you could be leaning out in places as the can profiles are likely to be different.

    I used to run a h22z in a 3g on an obd1 integra ecu with an EPROM i wrote with crome based on wideband data logging. You should be able to pick up an obd1 ecu chipped for an f22z6 off eBay USA for $200.00, would be worth every cent.

    http://m.ebay.com/itm/151081972603?nav=SEARCH

    Check out link above, they will load an EPROM for your engine that will plug and play.
    Last edited by Si_4ws; 17th May 2015 at 11:26 AM.


    81 x 95..... probably could have made a decent tractor engine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •