92 Prelude Si

manual transmission

I've been driving stick for 2 years now and I've never really payed attention or had the opportunity to watch this as a passenger, but I've been wondering when you're approaching a red light or a stop sign, do you usually just shift into neutral and roll while braking into a stop? If you do, do you keep the clutch pedal down while you roll or do you remove your foot?

This is how I've been doing it, is that normal?

95vtec_BManVA

Re: manual transmission

Man, with a question like this you're gonna get 8 million opinions from as many people. No one is correct. I might not be either...

The simple rule: If you're not shifting, keep your foot off of the clutch.

If you shift into neutral before stopping, that's ok, foot on the floor (off of the clutch) and you brake to a stop, it's just going to wear your pads and rotors out faster. Saves gas and clutch though.

If you like to downshift, that's cool, just don't slam gears without matching speed/RPMs when you're decellerating. Be deliberate and consistent.

You choose based on your style, comfort level, and the way your car performs. Neither one is right.

92 Prelude Si

Those were the options I was thinking, I figured there was a favored technique but I wasn't sure. Like I said I haven't really ever noticed because i've only been in a couple of manual cars as a passenger. Which is really strange now that I think about it, most of my close friends drive autos.

This was just a question (probably not the best) that i've been wanting to have answered but never thought about until after I read a post on here about reducing clutch wear.

Thanks

camil212